Sunday, October 7, 2007

CSIR Young Scientist Awards

This award was introduced in 1987 by Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) to promote excellence in science and technology in India. The fields covered under these awards are Biological, Chemical, Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary, Engineering and Physical (including Instrumentation) Sciences. The Award comprises a citation, a plaque and a cash prize of Rs.50,000.
CSIR Young Scientist Awards for 2007 year are declared!!!

Click on the names to get more information about the scientist we are proud of.

Chemical Sciences
Dr M Jayakannan,
National Institute for Interdiscplinary Science and Technology, Kerala
His research involves polymers and nano-materials

Dr Souvik Maiti,
Institute of Genomics & and integrative Biology, Delhi
Research scientist at Proteomics and Structural Biology Unit of IGIB

Engineering Sciences
Shri Rabibrata Mukherjee
Central Glass & Ceramic Research Institute, Kolkata

Dr Sundergopal Sridhar
Indian Institute of Chemical Technology, Hyderabad

Works in the field of membrane science and technology

Physical Sciences

Dr N Vijayan
National Physical Laboratory

Working in Materials Characterization Unit

No Awards were given in Biological Sciences and Earth, Atmosphere,Ocean & Planetary sciences field this year..

Tuesday, October 2, 2007

Coveted prizes for indian scientists

Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar better known as "The Father of Research Laboratories". He was the Founder Deputy General of Council for Scientific & Industrial Research(CSIR), one of the largest funding agency for scientific and industrial research. He established a total twelve national laboratories such as Central Food Processing Technological Insitute(Mysore), National Chemical Laboratory(Pune), the National Physical Laboratory, New Delhi, the National Metallurgical Laboratory, Jamshedpur, the Central Fuel Institute, Dhanbad, just to name a few. SSB awards for year 2007 have been declared by CSIR.

Just click on the name to know more about the scientist and his work!!!

Biological Sciences
1. Dr Upinder Singh Bhalla , National Centre for Biological Sciences, Bangalore
2. Dr Narayanaswamy Srinivasan , Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

Chemical Sciences
1. Dr Amalendu Chandra , Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur
2. Dr A Ajayaghosh, National Institute for Interdisciplinary Science and Technolgy [NIST],
(Formerly RRL) Thiruvanathapuram

Earth , Atmosphere , Ocean & Planetary Sciences
1. Dr Anil Bhardwaj , Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, Thiruvanathapuram

Engineering Sciences
1. Dr Rama Govindarajan , Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research,

2. Dr Budaraju Srinivasa Murty, Indian Institute of Technology Madras , Chennai

Mathematical Sciences
1. Dr B V Rajarama Bhat , Indian Statistical Institute , Bangalore

Medical Sciences
1. Dr Pundi Narasimhan Rangarajan , Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

Physical Sciences
1. Dr Yashwant Gupta , National Centre for Radio Astrophysics, Tata Institute of
Fundamental Research, Pune

2. Dr Pinaki Majumdar, Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad